Dodging The Bullet

To quote a great pop culture icon of our generation: “Great success!!!”

I’m talking about this fella. For whatever reason, my entire family, especially my papa, adores this movie.

So, I’m currently in my papa’s apartment in Maryland. “Criminal Minds” is on the TV. My sister’s on her phone, my mama’s lying on the ground on a blanket, my papa’s wandering around the apartment muttering something about fruit. My sis has a theory about why he’s so obsessed with fruit (especially oranges and bananas)–he had scurvy in a past life.

For the past week, I’ve been in Key Largo with my family for a vacation, our first all together since the summer my parents dropped me off at college freshman year. Despite my trepidation about family vacations (my dad’s temper during long drives is… touchy), this one was actually pretty across the board awesome. I got to canoe, kayak, parasail, and fish (even caught 4); the weather was beautiful the entire time too, as we drove to Key West and then up into the peninsula to the Everglades.

And I managed to spend an entire week in Florida without wearing a swimsuit. This is important because of this.

I’d write more but “Criminal Minds” is really engrossing. Whatever. Anyway, I listened to a lot of music on the 20-hour drives between Maryland and Florida; one time, I fell asleep while listening to Beach House’s “Bloom,” and when I woke up this song was playing. It’s appropriate for today.

Cheers to 2013, ya bishes.

(Image: Rainbow Picket by Judy Chicago, via roxana azar)

One thought on “Dodging The Bullet

  1. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
    each time a comment is added I get three emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

